About Me

I’m a senior at St. Catherine’s School, living thirty minutes west of Richmond, Virginia. As I have ridden since I was seven, horses and eventing are a fundamental part of my life. Whether it be showing, fox hunting with Deep Run Hunt Club, or scrubbing tack for a Pony Club Rally, I love what I do.

My horse, Miss Julia, is a eighteen-year-old HolsteinerxTB. Julia is very experienced, and has taught me so much since she came to live with us in 2010. We were entered in our first Prelim at Virginia Horse Trials and signed up for my B Pony Club Certification when Julia damaged a tendon sheath in her left rear hock in 2012. Ever since then, I’ve been working to strengthen Julia and get her back to where we were before her injury. This upcoming season, we will begin at training level, but my goal is to compete successfully at a Preliminary event this season.

My mother’s horse, Gee Willikers, is an seven-year-old Hanoverian gelding I rode while Julia was recovering. However, I’m still bringing him along with my mom. He has alot of potential, and I love training him. He now competes at Novice, but I’m working to make him more comfortable at the level and move him up in the near future.

This Spring, I have the privilege of working with Robert Costello, Olympian and 2003 Pan Am Games winner, for a week in Southern Pines, North Carolina. My mom and I are trailering both our horses down for the week of March 3rd. At the end of the week, I will compete Julia Training at Southern Pines Horse Trials, the first event of the season, March eighth through ninth.

GRC11-0328573

Picture of Julia and me on the Rolex Cross Country Course at the Kentucky Horse Park (2011).

1 thought on “About Me

  1. I hope that you and Mom have a great time this week! I am so glad that you both have this time together doing such a remarkable thing. Calling for 6″of snow Monday. I hope the weather holds out for you. Have fun, be safe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *